Understanding Payment Calculations Under The New Federal Paid Sick Leave and FMLA
There are two parts of a new federal law arising from the coronavirus pandemic that will take effect on April 2, 2020 and remain in effect until December 31, 2020 concerning paid sick leave and an expanded/paid Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
The paid sick leave may be taken for the six reasons identified below. It is limited to two weeks (the time is also covered by the 12 weeks of job protection FMLA leave).
The new law provides for emergency paid sick leave for the following reasons:
- The employee is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19.
- The employee has been advised by a healthcare provider to self-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-19.
- The employee is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical diagnosis.
- The employee is caring for an individual who is subject to an order as described in (1) or has been advised as described in (2).
- The employee is caring for a son or daughter of such employee if the school or place of care of the son or daughter has been closed, or the childcare provider of such son or daughter is unavailable due to COVID-19 precautions.
- The employee is experiencing any other substantially similar condition specified by the Secretary of Health and Human Services in consultation with the Secretary of the Treasury and the Secretary of Labor.
An employee out for reasons 1, 2 or 3 will be entitled to paid sick leave “up to $511 per day.” The new federal sick leave law requires the payment of two weeks of sick leave for the greater of: (1) the employee’s regular rate of pay; (2) the federal minimum wage; (3) the state minimum wage up to $511. After the two weeks, a sick employee would be able to utilize New Jersey Earned Sick Leave (other Paid Time Off if available), or apply for temporary disability.
An employee out for reasons #4-6, identified below will be entitled to paid sick leave “up to $200 per day.” The new federal sick leave law requires the payment of two weeks of sick leave for 2/3 of the greater of: (1) the employee’s regular rate of pay; (2) the federal minimum wage; (3) the state minimum wage up to $200. Thereafter, the employee would be eligible to apply for New Jersey Family Leave Insurance UNLESS they are #5 and then the employee is entitled to paid FMLA and an additional amount of paid time: 10 weeks of up to $200 per day.
The postings on this blog were created for general informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice or a solicitation to provide legal services. Although we attempt to ensure that the postings are complete, accurate, and current as of the time of publication, we assume no responsibility for their completeness, accuracy, or timeliness. The information in this blog is not intended to create, and receipt of it does not constitute, a lawyer-client relationship. Readers should not act upon this information without seeking professional legal counsel.
This blog may contain links to independent third party websites and services, including social media. We provide these links for your convenience, and you access them at your own risk. We have no control over and do not monitor the content or policies (including privacy policies) of these third-party websites and have no responsibility for, and no liability with respect to, their content, accuracy, or reliability. Unless expressly stated, we do not endorse any of the linked websites or any product, service, or publication referenced herein or therein. We will remove a link to any site from this blog upon request of the linked entity.
We grant permission to readers to link to this blog so long as this blog is not misrepresented. This site is not sponsored or associated with any other site unless so identified.
If you wish for Wilentz, Goldman & Spitzer, P.A., to consider representing you, please obtain contact information from the Contact Us area of this blog or go to the firm’s website at www.wilentz.com. One of our lawyers will be happy to discuss the possibility of representation with you. However, the authors of Wilentz blogs are licensed only in New Jersey and/or New York and do not wish to represent anyone who viewed this site in a state where the site fails to comply with all laws and ethical rules of that state.